Wow! I can’t believe I’ve been gone since January. I’ve discovered a new artistic outlet in art journaling and neglected my words online. Okay, well I also finished my BLA in English and History. Now I’m working on my genealogy home study course through the NGS. It’s already been a VERY busy year. This week’s story for Friday Fictioneers was inspired by an episode of “Who Do You Think You Are?” from the current season. The names are all from my family tree. Hope you like it and I hope to make this a regular habit again. For anyone who is finding this and hasn’t tried Friday Fictioneers (write 100 words for the weekly photo prompt), do it. It’s wonderful for getting the creative juices flowing and honest, constructive feedback.

iowa-amtrak

Ellis Island

Albert paced nervously at the back of the room, wearing a groove in the tile floor, as he waited for her turn.

“Achelpohl.”

As an illiterate, she was denied official entrance twice before. He couldn’t bear to lose her for good. Their homeland was no longer safe. Deportation meant certain death.

“Diekmann.”

Government bureaucracy didn’t understand the concepts of love and family.

“Feldmann.”

It was bad enough losing his brother. He couldn’t lose Clara too. Albert would marry her, not simply for the obligation of yibbum, but for love.

“Mueller.”

He saw the answer in her tears. She was home.

