sad-joyOkay, so the official NaNoWriMo was an epic fail. As usual. I’ve tried several times and have yet to win. So far. This year’s fail was a bit more stinging. It was the first time I pledged to write 50k since I realized that writing is what I want, what can make me happy no matter what I do to earn a paycheck. Though I do hope someday that my writing will bring that paycheck. But, as much as the loss felt worse, I also recognize that as long as I’m trying to work a full time job, take care of 5 kitties, and take college courses that the added pressure of a 50k word sprint was not conducive to sanity. Or happiness. Or sleep. And as the picture shows, I need to embrace the failure as a necessary part of the writing process.

Which is why I’m claiming December to be MyNoWriMo (my novel writing month) with a goal of 25k. January will also be MyNoWriMo. I’m going to set realistic goals to match my free time and finally set a writing routine. I think this will free up expectations and help me enjoy the process of pulling stories out of my head and on to “paper.”

My final papers for the semester are due on Saturday and Sunday so soon the words will flow and the nifty little word count meter will grow. More importantly, I’ll tell my cozy mysteries and have a fair trade with my writing buddy for the story she’s working on now. Coming soon…writing prompts to help me figure out my world building and character development.

 

00 / 25000 words. 0% done!

p.s. If you haven’t seen Inside Out yet, GO BUY IT NOW! It’s spectacular. It’s everything a good writer hopes they can achieve as well as a great vocabulary for expressing feelings. My roomie tells me I’m very much Joy, though I feel like I relate to Anger better. That might just be the genius of having Lewis Black as the voice of Anger though. Perfect. Or the retail job. 😉

