As usual it’s been a while since I’ve posted. The holidays are over and I have a short break between semesters (crossing my fingers I’ll come up with the financial aid to pay for my next two classes). So what better way to start a new year? Brand new Friday Fictioneers! This year promises to be my year of writing. My first Bleach fan fiction is edited and waiting for my revision. The original story I started for NaNoWriMo is coming along nicely, though slowly. I am already making progress in my goal to write words, however many or few, every day. And I always have Friday Fictioneers to keep the ideas flowing. I think 2015 will be great. 🙂

The picture prompt this time is beautiful. It’s a place I’d love to see for myself. And without further ado…

Ancestral Home

Standing atop the stairs, I can feel the pull of generations. I close my eyes and breathe in the scent of earth and water, of moss and bark. Wind rustles the bare branches and a stream trickles down stone.

Where now there are delicate yellow flowers and mounds of grass covering every step, ivy spreading down the walls, there was once a pristine row of stairs leading to the cellar of a modest cottage in a prosperous village. It took only one German air raid to destroy the small village, but its memory survives in the descendants, in my family.

